Reviews

It's only fair to share...Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail this to someone
Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel

Create your own review

Average rating:  
 11 reviews
by Jen & Mike on Blank Business Name
Date of visit: 17/6/17

My Wife and I got married at Pentre Mawr on the 17th June '17 and can say without hesitation that we had the most wonderful weekend of our lives. We stayed all weekend with our family and friends and we were all made to feel completely welcome and at home. The meal on the Friday night was fantastic, as were the breakfasts on the Saturday and Sunday. The wedding itself went perfectly thanks in no small measure to the efforts of the unflappable wedding planner Lorna and the owners Graham, Bre and their cool as a cucumber son, Connor.The house and grounds are stunning and provide a wonderful setting for a wedding. We were very lucky in that the sun was shining on the day of our wedding but we have no doubt that a wedding at Pentre Mawr would be fantastic whatever the weather with the way the venue and house is set up.The accommodation both inside the house and in the camping lodges is great. Very clean and comfortable with so many interesting touches and features that wherever you look you see something new and interesting. Each room has a hot tub and sitting in the hot tub under the stars the night before our wedding with a couple of drinks was a magical experience.The whole weekend went perfectly and any questions or requests we made as to how we wanted things set up were dealt with quickly and calmly by the very professional staff.Pentre Mawr allow you set up the wedding day how you want so that you can bring in your own caterers etc. which gives you a great freedom in allowing you to set up the day exactly how you want it without feeling restricted in any way. We loved this as it allowed us to add all the personal touches that were important to us. We had our food provided by Dinner by Design who we could not recommend highly enough. They put on a fantastic spread in the day and evening and as they work regularly with Pentre Mawr their set up and service went very smoothly. We also had Rich and his birds of prey putting on a show after the wedding and we know that our guests absolutely loved this, as did we.We had 120 day and evening guests and the venue accommodated them with ease. All in all we found everything, food, accommodation, hosts and value for money absolutely first rate and we could not fault anything about the whole weekend.Pentre Mawr gave us a wedding weekend that we will never forget. We had the most wonderful time and we know that our family and wedding guests did too.A huge thank you to Bre, Graham, Lorna and Connor. We will be back one day no doubt! We are considering annulling our marriage so we can get married here again!

by Jenny & Andrew on Blank Business Name
Date of visit: 24/6/17

When we decided to get married we wanted a festival feel where people copuld come along for one, two or three days and we could spend time with our friends, family and their kids. We also wanted a bit of plushness and luxury. Pentre Mawr gave us that expereince. Bree and Graham were sentational hosts and Lorna was an angel the way she organised everything.Every single one of our 100 guests had an amazing time and the food, the acoomodation and the venue was perfect. We had the best 4 days of our lives there and I cant thank Pentre Mawr enough.

by Nicola on Blank Business Name
Date of visit: 28/5/17

Spent an amazing 3 days/2 nights here for my best friends wedding. 5 stars really does not do this place justice. Every part of the experience from start to finish was magical and with so much attention to detail. I stayed in one of the safari themed tents, they are huge with a big comfy bed, hot tub and a huge bathroom! Has most things you would need - robes, towels, toiletries, drinks. I didn't want to check out. The staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble and they really do go above and beyond. Food is so yummy too. So many secret areas of this venue, the gardens, marquee's and disco barn and it's truly spectacular. The owners clearly have put so much time and effort into making this the best wedding experience and the most beautiful setting. Would recommend this to anyone, worth every penny.

Date of visit: March 2017

Spent the whole weekend at the beautiful Pentre Mawr.Incredible place in all aspects. We stayed in a safari lodge and, despite seeming a little expensive at first, we soon realised why it was valued like this. Fantastic hot tubs and bathroom and just like posh bedrooms with canvas! So peaceful and ideal for wedding guests!Awesome service throughout from the staff and always willing to help out.Many thanksWill

by Karen C on Blank Business Name

I’m not one for doing reviews in general but I felt I needed to do this one. We’d looked at nearly a dozen wedding venues or wedding fairs before someone mentioned Pentre Mawr to us. It wasn’t that we were looking for anything in particular as we didn’t really know what we wanted. We wanted a really fantastic day for ourselves and our friends and family but we didn’t want to wake up with a £15k hangover the day after our wedding. That seemed to be the minimum budget all our friends talked about for around 100 guests. We had 109 plus evening guests. So I was frustrated when we got in touch with Pentre, they sent us a brochure but no prices. I rang Bre and she explained that they did things differently at Pentre Mawr and that they didn’t discuss prices until we visited. She sounded really lovely on the phone and though I didn’t really want to go without having a ball park figure, I came off the phone with an appointment for the following Sunday.We arrived to a warm welcome, it was a lovely spring day and showed the venue in a really good light. Bre and Graham brought us in, made us coffee and had a general chat, not just about the wedding but about us, our dog and our families. From the very beginning, Bre said they never did a heavy sell and we felt really relaxed as we walked around the venue. I don’t want to give too much away but I will say that their web site doesn’t do the place justice. There were surprises around every corner. Everything is supplied as well, from the marquees and barns, to what Bre calls her Pinterest room. All the extra’s we thought we’d have to pay for, like a candy cart or a photo booth, they’ve managed to supply at no extra charge. We looked into having a marquee at my dad’s farm and the price of the venue fee was the same price as hiring in the marquee with the furniture etc. but you get so much more. There was a room of our choice included in the fee, but you had to take all the rooms for two nights. As we’re fairly local and had only a few people coming from away we felt that was quite a big ask. I shouldn’t have worried, our friends took up the lodges and suites with their hot tubs, the oldie’s (sorry Mum!!) loved the rooms in the house. My bridesmaids and me had a brilliant night in the secret garden cottage. Lorna bought us breakfast there on my wedding morning so I didn’t have to move until I walked down the aisle. Don’t panic about the prices of the rooms on their web site there’s a big reduction in the rooms prices for a wedding weekendWe arrived on Thursday before the wedding to decorate the marquee and drop off our wine. That was great as well. They don’t charge any corkage for the wine and supplied us fridges to chill it. Lorna brought us tea, coffee, cake and bucks Fizz. She took loads of photos from Thursday right the way though till our guests left on Sunday and put them on a disc for us.(They say there not professional but they’re really quite good) On Friday we finished everything off. Bre’s wedding store made that all so easy. We were truly lucky with our day considering it was end of March. It was a lovely sunny day and the gang at Pentre Mawr managed the whole day for us so everything went really smoothly. There are a few things that they do they don’t want us to tell about. Bre calls them her little surprises but truly they helped to make the day even more special.On Sunday morning we had a huge buffet breakfast at 11.00 so we all had a wonderful lie in. When our guests left we stayed on for a night on our own. Lorna made us a lovely breakfast hamper and not only was there breakfast stuff but fizz and chocs as well. Fantastic!!! Our friends were amazed by the venue and kept asking us how we’d found it. We can’t recommend Pentre enough. If you’re looking for a venue where you can truly make your wedding as individual and personal as possible, just give the gang at Pentre Mawr a ring.

by Kevin and Ellie Tasker on Blank Business Name
Date of visit: 1st of April

Thank you so much to everyone who came to our wedding or sent lovely cards / gifts in their absence. We literally had the perfect day, with everything coming together exactly how we'd planned. Special thanks to both our families and to our fantastic Bridesmaids, Best Men & Ushers - couldn't have done it without you.
Also a massive thank you to everyone at Pentre Mawr Country House Hotel - literally the most perfect wedding venue & staff you could imagine.
There were so many special moments - having a beer with the lads beforehand, Olivia being a beautiful flower girl, Ellie walking down the aisle and then singing with her choir, pictures with friends & family, some blinding speeches and of course our first dance, which was nailed after weeks of practice (and strict teaching from Ellie) in our lounge. The whole weekend will live with us forever and we wish we could do it all again (after a bit of rest!).
Thanks again to everyone - we had our perfect day which we'll remember forever. Kev Tasker & Ellie Tasker x

by Boylenbird on Blank Business Name
Date of visit: Sept 2016

I was a guest at a wedding with my partner in Sept 2016. We stayed in one of the safari lodges for the weekend. The loge we had was very comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub, the shower and the bath. There was lashings of hot water available and the facilities were excellent. There were lots of little African touches everywhere that made the safari lodge special.

We arrived on Friday evening ready for a superb dinner in the main house. We loved the house which is full of character. The food was really superb the choice on the menu was excellent. The groom came from
South Africa so as a result we had Bobotie and Malay Fish on our menu which was superb. The choice of wine at dinner was excellent and value for money.

The wedding for Greg and Helen was just magical. I loved the secret garden particularly. We had a great disco afterwards and lots of naked people in the hot tub until the early hours. Fire pits everywhere to add to the outdoor atmosphere.

The hosts at the venue really were brilliant and couldn't do enough. I highly recommend this place for the warm welcome and beautiful setting. We found the whole experience memorable and we believe we had excellent value for money. The house is really charming I didn't want to leave.

by Gill and Dave on Blank Business Name
Date of visit: Sept 2016

Our son married at Pentre Mawr, this week. The happy, busy pair only wanted a small, intimate wedding for close family, but also wanted something a bit different. They couldn't have done better than to put themselves in the hands of Bre and Graham.

The service was beautifully done, with Bre guiding us all along, but without being bossy or intrusive. Fizz and home made canapes followed, while the photographer did her bit.

Early afternoon tea was served in the walled garden, followed by 90 minutes of fun with the birds of prey. The tea, coffee and other drinks kept on coming, so unobrusively that no one really noticed.

The youngsters then decided to see the shetland ponies who are really friendly, and love mints. That was a lovely experience for everyone, young and old.

We had an hour to ourselves then met for drinks, and for some, an intense game of chess. This is Bre and Grahams home, not a hotel, but we really felt as welcome as their friends would be and we were allowed to make ourselves at home.

Dinner followed, all beautifully cooked with food sourced locally. The menu had something for everyone, including two children and a vegetarian. Graham kept the wine and other drinks coming and the staff were very efficient as well as being really nice and very helpful.

The rooms in the house are really beautiful, with many family bits and pieces around and the lodges were really appreciated by those that stayed in them.

Breakfast was served in the house, the next morning, again all beautifully cooked. There was a lovely choice of fruit, cereals, breads and yogurts, enough to satisfy everyone, young and old.

We highly recommend Pentre Mawr and would like to thank Bre, Graham and all the staff for making our sons wedding so special.

by Susan C on Blank Business Name
Date of visit: Sept 2016

Our daughters wedding on Wednesday was the most beautiful day we could wish to have, we were all looked after by Brie, Graham and staff and had first class service, the marquee in the secret garden where the wedding ceremony took place was very special, our country vintage tea, champagne, evening meal, and accommodation, all exceeded our expectations, feed back from family was the best day ever and no one wanted to go home. We would recommend the Pentre Mawr to anyone and we will be returning in the future.

by Carol Harlow on Blank Business Name
Date of visit: August 2016

Not sure where to start with this review as so totally different from anywhere I have stayed before. My husband booked this as part of our 25th wedding anniversary celebrations. Have to say I'm not a tent person and was a bit worried about what we would actually be getting but really shouldn't have been concerned. Lovely welcome at the main house with afternoon tea and bucks fizz. Then taken down to our safari lodges which were more like marquees. Huge!! The bathroom was bigger that a lot of hotel room I have stayed in with lovely roll top baths and waterfall taps. The main living room included fully fitted kitchen including microwave and dishwasher. (Don't all tents have a dishwasher) They didn't provide breakfast serve as such but huge breakfast hamper with croissants, yoghurts, bread fruit etc as well as tea and coffee. Our "tent" was beautifully furnished and super comfortable. NO camp beds here. And the piece d resistance was the private hot tub outside the back door! Again all tents should come with one! Other highlights include the lovely collie dogs who played football with our son, and the ponies. Also the outside swimming pool up at the main house. Yes it was rather cold due to typical welsh weather but huge hot tub next to it made swimming do able. I have thought very hard about how this could be improved, Bearing in mind the other facilities perhaps a small freezer. Every tent needs a freezer! Overall an absolutely fantastic experience and almost impossible to fault. Phone and wifi connection was a bit erratic but you are in the middle of the welsh countryside

Page 1 of 2:
«
 
 
1
2
 
»
 

5 star country house hotel with hot tub suites and lodges