Reviews

It's only fair to share...Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Email this to someone
email
Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel

Create your own review

Pentre Mawr Country House and Wedding Venue
Average rating:  
 15 reviews
by Jan Phillipson on Pentre Mawr Country House and Wedding Venue
Date of visit: 26-28th April 2019

So we chose the weekend of storm Hannah to hold my daughter's wedding but to be honest we hardly noticed.
Bre is such a fantastic organiser, with Graham, Conor and Elin and the staff in the background the day was perfect. The setting, the house, the welcome, the food I could go on and on. Because of the layout the rain hardly bothered us at all and there were plenty of options for photos, perfectly managed by Nathan of NR Imagery.
The catering by Dinner by Design was delicious and plentiful!!
Graham and Bre and the team make you feel so relaxed and that nothing is too much trouble. They care.

by Cath morgan on Pentre Mawr Country House and Wedding Venue
Date of visit: 19.04.19

Our son married his beautiful bride this week at this fantastic venue. If u are looking for a special venue in North Wales then this one should be at the top of your list. This place is set up to give u a unique experience, with no 2 weddings being the same. The grounds are stunning, the buildings are fabulous and the pinterest rooms enable you to make the day just how you want it. The accomodation is lovely and the safari lodges add another dimension to the whole experience. We all felt chilled and relaxed as nothing was too much trouble. ALL the staff were lovely from the owners and their family, manager, waiters and the cleaner. The food on the night before the wedding was delicious, as were the breakfasts. It was such a fantastic experience and i really would highly recommend this venue

by Lesley Rout on Pentre Mawr Country House and Wedding Venue
Date of visit: 27/28 October 2017

I don't often do reviews but had to express my thanks to the owners and all the staff at Pentre Mawr for an exceptional weekend at my daughter's wedding in October 2017. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the experience was quite unlike any other wedding I have ever attended (in a good way!). Many others have given details about all the facilities available so I won't go into all that but the overall feeling was that the owners and staff really cared about giving you the best weekend possible. I am told you are unlikely to find details of this venue at a wedding fair, which is a great pity, but it is probably one of the hidden gems of Welsh hospitality. Many thanks again to Bre, Graham, Lorna, Connor and all the staff.

by sandra on Pentre Mawr Country House and Wedding Venue

WOW! thats all i can say

by Jen & Mike on Pentre Mawr Country House and Wedding Venue
Date of visit: 17/6/17

My Wife and I got married at Pentre Mawr on the 17th June '17 and can say without hesitation that we had the most wonderful weekend of our lives. We stayed all weekend with our family and friends and we were all made to feel completely welcome and at home. The meal on the Friday night was fantastic, as were the breakfasts on the Saturday and Sunday. The wedding itself went perfectly thanks in no small measure to the efforts of the unflappable wedding planner Lorna and the owners Graham, Bre and their cool as a cucumber son, Connor.

The house and grounds are stunning and provide a wonderful setting for a wedding. We were very lucky in that the sun was shining on the day of our wedding but we have no doubt that a wedding at Pentre Mawr would be fantastic whatever the weather with the way the venue and house is set up.

The accommodation both inside the house and in the camping lodges is great. Very clean and comfortable with so many interesting touches and features that wherever you look you see something new and interesting. Each room has a hot tub and sitting in the hot tub under the stars the night before our wedding with a couple of drinks was a magical experience.

The whole weekend went perfectly and any questions or requests we made as to how we wanted things set up were dealt with quickly and calmly by the very professional staff.

Pentre Mawr allow you set up the wedding day how you want so that you can bring in your own caterers etc. which gives you a great freedom in allowing you to set up the day exactly how you want it without feeling restricted in any way. We loved this as it allowed us to add all the personal touches that were important to us. We had our food provided by Dinner by Design who we could not recommend highly enough. They put on a fantastic spread in the day and evening and as they work regularly with Pentre Mawr their set up and service went very smoothly. We also had Rich and his birds of prey putting on a show after the wedding and we know that our guests absolutely loved this, as did we.

We had 120 day and evening guests and the venue accommodated them with ease. All in all we found everything, food, accommodation, hosts and value for money absolutely first rate and we could not fault anything about the whole weekend.

Pentre Mawr gave us a wedding weekend that we will never forget. We had the most wonderful time and we know that our family and wedding guests did too.

A huge thank you to Bre, Graham, Lorna and Connor. We will be back one day no doubt! We are considering annulling our marriage so we can get married here again!

by Jenny & Andrew on Pentre Mawr Country House and Wedding Venue
Date of visit: 24/6/17

When we decided to get married we wanted a festival feel where people copuld come along for one, two or three days and we could spend time with our friends, family and their kids. We also wanted a bit of plushness and luxury. Pentre Mawr gave us that expereince. Bree and Graham were sentational hosts and Lorna was an angel the way she organised everything.

Every single one of our 100 guests had an amazing time and the food, the acoomodation and the venue was perfect. We had the best 4 days of our lives there and I cant thank Pentre Mawr enough.

by Nicola on Pentre Mawr Country House and Wedding Venue
Date of visit: 28/5/17

Spent an amazing 3 days/2 nights here for my best friends wedding. 5 stars really does not do this place justice. Every part of the experience from start to finish was magical and with so much attention to detail. I stayed in one of the safari themed tents, they are huge with a big comfy bed, hot tub and a huge bathroom! Has most things you would need - robes, towels, toiletries, drinks. I didn't want to check out. The staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble and they really do go above and beyond. Food is so yummy too. So many secret areas of this venue, the gardens, marquee's and disco barn and it's truly spectacular. The owners clearly have put so much time and effort into making this the best wedding experience and the most beautiful setting. Would recommend this to anyone, worth every penny.

by Will on Pentre Mawr Country House and Wedding Venue
Date of visit: March 2017

Spent the whole weekend at the beautiful Pentre Mawr.
Incredible place in all aspects. We stayed in a safari lodge and, despite seeming a little expensive at first, we soon realised why it was valued like this. Fantastic hot tubs and bathroom and just like posh bedrooms with canvas! So peaceful and ideal for wedding guests!
Awesome service throughout from the staff and always willing to help out.

Many thanks

Will

by Karen C on Pentre Mawr Country House and Wedding Venue

I’m not one for doing reviews in general but I felt I needed to do this one. We’d looked at nearly a dozen wedding venues or wedding fairs before someone mentioned Pentre Mawr to us. It wasn’t that we were looking for anything in particular as we didn’t really know what we wanted. We wanted a really fantastic day for ourselves and our friends and family but we didn’t want to wake up with a £15k hangover the day after our wedding. That seemed to be the minimum budget all our friends talked about for around 100 guests. We had 109 plus evening guests. So I was frustrated when we got in touch with Pentre, they sent us a brochure but no prices. I rang Bre and she explained that they did things differently at Pentre Mawr and that they didn’t discuss prices until we visited. She sounded really lovely on the phone and though I didn’t really want to go without having a ball park figure, I came off the phone with an appointment for the following Sunday.
We arrived to a warm welcome, it was a lovely spring day and showed the venue in a really good light. Bre and Graham brought us in, made us coffee and had a general chat, not just about the wedding but about us, our dog and our families. From the very beginning, Bre said they never did a heavy sell and we felt really relaxed as we walked around the venue. I don’t want to give too much away but I will say that their web site doesn’t do the place justice. There were surprises around every corner. Everything is supplied as well, from the marquees and barns, to what Bre calls her Pinterest room. All the extra’s we thought we’d have to pay for, like a candy cart or a photo booth, they’ve managed to supply at no extra charge. We looked into having a marquee at my dad’s farm and the price of the venue fee was the same price as hiring in the marquee with the furniture etc. but you get so much more. There was a room of our choice included in the fee, but you had to take all the rooms for two nights. As we’re fairly local and had only a few people coming from away we felt that was quite a big ask. I shouldn’t have worried, our friends took up the lodges and suites with their hot tubs, the oldie’s (sorry Mum!!) loved the rooms in the house. My bridesmaids and me had a brilliant night in the secret garden cottage. Lorna bought us breakfast there on my wedding morning so I didn’t have to move until I walked down the aisle. Don’t panic about the prices of the rooms on their web site there’s a big reduction in the rooms prices for a wedding weekend
We arrived on Thursday before the wedding to decorate the marquee and drop off our wine. That was great as well. They don’t charge any corkage for the wine and supplied us fridges to chill it. Lorna brought us tea, coffee, cake and bucks Fizz. She took loads of photos from Thursday right the way though till our guests left on Sunday and put them on a disc for us.
(They say there not professional but they’re really quite good) On Friday we finished everything off. Bre’s wedding store made that all so easy. We were truly lucky with our day considering it was end of March. It was a lovely sunny day and the gang at Pentre Mawr managed the whole day for us so everything went really smoothly. There are a few things that they do they don’t want us to tell about. Bre calls them her little surprises but truly they helped to make the day even more special.
On Sunday morning we had a huge buffet breakfast at 11.00 so we all had a wonderful lie in. When our guests left we stayed on for a night on our own. Lorna made us a lovely breakfast hamper and not only was there breakfast stuff but fizz and chocs as well. Fantastic!!! Our friends were amazed by the venue and kept asking us how we’d found it. We can’t recommend Pentre enough. If you’re looking for a venue where you can truly make your wedding as individual and personal as possible, just give the gang at Pentre Mawr a ring.

by Kevin and Ellie Tasker on Pentre Mawr Country House and Wedding Venue
Date of visit: 1st of April

Thank you so much to everyone who came to our wedding or sent lovely cards / gifts in their absence. We literally had the perfect day, with everything coming together exactly how we'd planned. Special thanks to both our families and to our fantastic Bridesmaids, Best Men & Ushers - couldn't have done it without you.

Also a massive thank you to everyone at Pentre Mawr Country House Hotel - literally the most perfect wedding venue & staff you could imagine.

There were so many special moments - having a beer with the lads beforehand, Olivia being a beautiful flower girl, Ellie walking down the aisle and then singing with her choir, pictures with friends & family, some blinding speeches and of course our first dance, which was nailed after weeks of practice (and strict teaching from Ellie) in our lounge. The whole weekend will live with us forever and we wish we could do it all again (after a bit of rest!).

Thanks again to everyone - we had our perfect day which we'll remember forever. Kev Tasker & Ellie Tasker x

Page 1 of 2:
«
 
 
1
2
 
»
 

5 star country house hotel and bespoke wedding venue